What Is Halal?

The arabic word  (Halal) means lawful. In the Holy Quran, Allah commands Muslims and all of mankind to eat of the Halal things. Among the many verses of the Quran that convey this message, here are a few:

O mankind! Eat of that which is lawful and wholesome in the earth, and follow not the footsteps of the devil.Lo! he is an open enemy for you. (2:168)

O ye who believe! Eat of the good things wherewith We have provided you, and render thanks to Allah if it is (indeed) He Whom ye worship. (2:172)

Eat of that which Allah hath bestowed o­n you as food  lawful and good, and keep your duty to Allah in Whom ye are believers. (5:88)


The following products are definitely Halal:

1. Milk (from cows, sheep, camels, and goats)

2. Honey

3. Fish ( some are not halal in shia’s Fikh )

4. Plants which are not intoxicant

5. Fresh or naturally frozen vegetables

6. Fresh or dried fruits

7. Legumes and nuts like peanuts, cashew nuts, hazel nuts, walnuts, etc.

8. Grains such as wheat, rice, rye, barley, oat, etc.

Animals such as cows, sheep, goats, deer, moose, chickens, ducks, game birds, etc., are also Halal, but they must be Zabihah (slaughtered according to Islamic Rites) in order to be suitable for consumption. The procedure is as follows:

1- the animal must be slaughtered by a Muslim.(while shias put it as acondition sunnis accept the zabiha of Ahlulkitab (jews and Christians)

2- The animal should be directed toward Holy Mecca( a condition for shia o­nly)

3-  The animal should be put down o­n the ground (or held it if it is small) and its throat should be slit with a very sharp knife to make sure that the 2 main blood vessels are cut and the food and air pipe are totaly cut .

4- While cutting the throat of the animal (without severing it), the person must pronounce the name of Allah or recite a blessing which contains the name of Allah, such as “Bismillah Allah-u-Akbar”.( some sunnis see it as Sounna )

5 – To use a sharp steel knife .


What is Haram?

The arabic word  (Haram) means unlawful. The following items have been categorically spelled out as being Haram by jurists in light of the Holy Quran and the Sunnah of the Prophet Mohammad :

1. Pig

2. Blood

3. Carnivorous animals

4. Almost all reptiles and insects

5. The bodies of dead animals

6. Halal animals which are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Law.

7. Wine, Ethyl Alcohol, and Spirits.

The above mentioned items are Haram and should be avoided by all Muslims.